Zucchini Pizza base

I’m happy to admit that I am a little skeptical about making a pizza base with zucchini! I’m keen to try it as it’s something I haven’t done before and it looks good in the picture I am using for the recipe, however I normally like my pizza bases thin and crispy. Either way, I’m giving it a whirl and we shall see what the finished product both looks and tastes (most important thing) like.

zucchini-pizza-base-2

Photo 1: Making the mixture

So the recipe is super easy and the only thing I am aware of or would maybe do differently is that I used frozen grated cheese not fresh. I think this did and will make a difference as there was a little water in the mixture because of this. I did drain some of it over the sink before I put it on the baking tray, but I guess a tip for next time I make it.

Ingredients

1 x large zucchini
1 x free range egg
100g grated cheese
Salt, pepper, chilli flakes, garlic salt (or any other seasoning you wish)
This recipe is from Jane Kennedy’s The Big Book of Fabulous Food, modified to be mine.

I like a lot of seasoning on my veggies. Not so much ‘salt’ moreso anything to give what I am cooking more flavour, less blandness and where I can a bit of spice.

So for this one, I used salt, pepper, chilli flakes and some garlic salt (from Aldi in the spice range).

It’s as simple as grating the zucchini, whisking the egg and adding it to the mix. Seasoning the mixture to get to a flavour you think will be alright and stir well.

The mixture doesn’t stick together the same way that a cake batter would but I knew the cheese would bind it as I cooked it.

Making it into a circle or ‘base’ on the baking tray was surprising simple and all up the process took about 15 mins.

Recipe says to cook for 20mins or till light golden colour then let cool before loading with pizza sauce and other awesome ingredients.

Regardless of what it will taste like and the texture being different from a ‘normal’ pizza, I am glad I made it and I am keen to see it through into a pizza and taste the results!

 zucchini-pre-cook

Photo 2: The base ready to be cooked

 

About Jamchop

I love cooking, books, yoga and the water! Instagram: adriannejamieson
This entry was posted in Cooking, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Zucchini Pizza base

  1. Abram Sampey says:

    Your style is very unique in comparison to other people I have read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this page.

    Like

Leave a Reply

