Kale Pesto

By Adrianne Jamieson

I don’t mind kale. I think the taste is quite bitter, but if you mix it with some other good ingredients in a green smoothie, I think it is alright. Plus there is the added benefit in knowing how good it is for you and I think that helps you get off the not so nice part of it and actually enjoy it.

I was at this little café for breakfast a few weeks back and the meal I ordered had kale pesto served on top of the mushrooms. I really enjoyed that dish and have been thinking about making it ever since.

This weekend, I finally got around to it. The taste was quite good and I think it’s definitely worth a shot if you want to try something different for a change. I have made plenty of basil pesto before so I used my recipe for that and then modified it to make it with the kale instead of the basil.

So here is my recipe and don’t be afraid to keep tasting it after you have blitzed it so that you can adjust the flavour to your liking.

Ingredients

½ bunch kale, rinsed and torn into pieces
100g pine nuts
200g shredded parmesan cheese (I use the one with the strongest flavour but any will do and you could grate your own or use flaked parmesan too).
1-2 tablespoons minced or fresh chopped garlic
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon lemon juice
Salt
Pepper

Method

  • I make my pesto in a small food processor.
  • Put the rinsed kale into the food processor and blitz till it is nicely chopped up.
  • Add the pine nuts and parmesan and continue to blitz.

kale-pesto-mix

Image one: ingredients in the blender read to get blitzed

Add the olive oil and blitz again, making sure the mixture looks smooth and consistent in its texture.

Now that the mixture is nice and smooth, add the garlic. Stop and taste it after this as you may want to add a little bit more of it but in small doses so it doesn’t overwhelm the flavour.

Taste it multiple times throughout the blitzing process to make sure you are happy with the flavor.

Add a squeeze of fresh lemon juice as well as a sprinkle of salt (I use Himalayan pink salt) and fresh cracked pepper. Blitz again so these final ingredients blend in well with the rest of the mixture.

Image two: the mixture will look like this, keep going, until there is a smooth consistency

There are a number of options for serving this. I used it this morning in a breakfast dish, but am also trying it with some chorizo to make a kale pesto spaghetti (stay tuned for that recipe).

kale-breakfast

Image three: Breakfast! Kale pesto with bacon, eggs and greens.

You won’t likely use the whole mixture at once, so you can either leave covered in the fridge or you can freeze it in small plastic bags for use in the future (it won’t take up much room in the freezer either, but the flavor will knock your socks off!)

Enjoy xx

 

About Jamchop

I love cooking, books, yoga and the water! Instagram: adriannejamieson
This entry was posted in Cooking, Down time, Easy meals, Home cooking, Kale, Vegetables, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

