Sweet red chilli and cream cheese dip

A few years ago when I was working at a random job one of my colleagues ( Maureen πŸ™‚ )brought in this amazing dip for us to try. It was delicious and I asked her for the recipe, which she willingly provided. Over the years thought when I have found myself wanting to make the dip, I have never had the recipe on hand and have had to wing it.

At Christmas this year, I was up at beautiful Bribie Island and we were having a variety of foods and this dip was one that came to mind and I knew it would go well with all of the other foods we were going to have around that time. As I didn’t have the specific recipe and googling my heart out to find it did not provide results (I know, but you try googling cream cheese capsicum dip and there are SO many that I had to improvise).

Whilst when I had the dip for the 1st time back in the day, it was with red capsicum, I have come to really enjoy using sweet red chillis as my local fruit shop always has them in store and I think the flavor is better for cooking than the traditional red capsicum.

This dip is sweet, it is savory, it is delicious!

Ingredients

1 x tub of cream cheese (spreadable – I love Aldi’s version)
1 x tablespoon garlic (from a jar is fine)
1 x tablespoon ginger (from a jar is ok, don’t need fresh)
1/4 white vinegar
1/4 cup brown sugar
3-4 sweet red chillis

Method

  1. Cut chillis across the vegetable so you have nice circle like shapes, I like to keep the seeds in (they are not that hot – be brave!)
  2. Put a splash of olive oil into the frypan and then add the garlic and ginger. Fry this off for about 2 minutes (enjoy the aroma in the kitchen – smells divine)
  3. Add the chopped chillis, brown sugar and vinegar, turn the stove down and simmer the ingredients. (Approximately 5 mins)

dip-making

Image one: DipΒ mix in the fry pan – your kitchen will smell amazing!

4. You will see that the liquid is becoming lovely and caramelized and the sugar is melting into a delicious thick paste
5. Keep an eye on the stove and turn it off when the capsicum is cooked (depends on how big your slices were, you want it to be nice and soft).
6. Turn the stove off
7. On a dip plate, put your cream cheese into a small bowl (I prefer a bigger than normal bowl so that people can maneuver their cracker into the mix to get a good dollop of cream cheese as well as the dip)
8. Spread a variety of crackers onto the serving plate around the dip bowl (my favourite for this dip are water crackers, with the holes in and the wavy surface not the flat small ones which are better for pate. I find that these are thick enough to handle being pushed into the cream cheese without snapping off, no one wants a broken cracker!)
9. Turn back to the stove to grab the dip mix, pour this over the cream cheese, scrapping down the frying pan, so all of the sugary liquid is going over the cream cheese.
10.Serve immediately, the chilli mix will still be hot and this will melt over the cream cheese nicely. I would recommend putting a couple of small dip knives onto the plate as it can be a little bit messy but these do the trick to get the right combination onto your cracker.

dip

Image two: Serving the dip – this plate has a variety of crackers

Your guests will love you and no doubt ask for the recipe, it is different and much more flavoursome than store bought prepackaged dips. Not to mention getting a serve of veggies in!

Enjoy! xx

About Jamchop

I love cooking, books, yoga and the water! Instagram: adriannejamieson
This entry was posted in Home cooking, receipes, Vegetables, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

