Pumpkin, pine nut and rocket pizza

If homemade pizza is not the best thing ever to cook, I honestly don’t know what is. It is so easy to do and there are so many great toppings to play around with, not to mention that your own style ones won’t leave you feeling too full and needing to wash it down with a coke the way that some store bought ones do.

One of my friends (thank-you Kayla) brought me this awesome piece of jap pumpkin earlier in the week and I knew I wanted to season it and roast it, then I was thinking, hmmm what can I do with it, then of course homemade pumpkin pizza came to mind. We were talking about pizzas at work today and I would not be surprised if the 3 of us involved in the conversation ended up with our own varieties coming fresh out of the oven tonight. They are just so easy to make and tasty at the same time.

I pretty much always use whole wheat pita bread now. I find it goes crispy really well, and holds the ingredients on top quite well also. I have used tortillas in the past as well for the base, but sometimes I think it varies on results depending on which brand you get. With whole wheat pita, I find the results are pretty consistent and you would have to not be paying any attention to burn it whereas the tortilla base cooks a lot faster and you do run that risk.

Last night I seasoned and roasted my pumpkin and then tonight I char grilled it on the stove top for a little bit. After that it was a simple matter of putting a few ingredients on the top and pacing out the cooking so that each layer had started to cook before the next layer went on top.

Hump day = homemade pizza day, I say! Weekend looks like it is fast approaching, woo hoo. Would have loved a glass or 2 of a nice shiraz with this tonight, but I haven’t been drinking other than the end of the week for a while now, so I will have to save that thought and enjoy that coming my way soon.

Prep and cook time: 30 minutes Serves: 2

Pumpkin, pine nut and rocket pizza ingredients

1 x whole wheat pita bread
2 tablespoons rocket pesto (homemade)
6 slices chorizo
sprinkle of grated cheese
½ cup pumpkin, roasted, then chargrilled
1 long red sweet chilli pepper
1 green jalapeno
drizzle of balsamic vinegar
handful fresh rocket

wp-1490785342250.jpg

wp-1490785072590.jpg

Pumpkin, pine nut and rocket pizza method

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees
  2. Cover pita with rocket pesto, grated cheese and top with chorizo slices, oven bake 2 minutes
  3. Top with pine nuts, bell pepper and jalapeno, bake another 2 minutes
  4. Take out of oven, pour balsamic vinegar over pumpkin pieces and add handful of rocket

wp-1490783317146.jpg

 

About Jamchop

I love cooking, books, yoga and the water! Instagram: adriannejamieson
This entry was posted in Dinner, Easy meals, Home cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pumpkin, pine nut and rocket pizza

  1. Felipe Gragg says:

    thank you for this, i always wanted to know more about this topic.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

