Satay Pork Noodle bowl

I find one of the best ways to get inspiration for my meal planning and cooking is to look through books and magazines. A favourite of mine are the Coles and Woolworths magazines as I find that they are always up to date with the latest trends as well as exploring seasonal ideas for food. When I got back from interstate and was doing my shopping, I picked up the latest Coles magazine, it was an Easter Special. I headed to the pub that afternoon for a cold beer off the tap, so I took it with me and decided to have a flick through to get some ideas. One of the recipes I came across looked like it had a Vietnamese twist to it and I love Vietnamese food so I decided on that for last weekend. I had all of the ingredients but randomly I didn’t feel like cooking (shock horror) so I froze the mince and took it out again as one of my friends was coming over for Anzac Day afternoon so decided we could make it and enjoy it together. The preparation was half the fun for this meal as we got to have a beer, cut the veggies and put it all together in a bowl. I love how colourful the dish turned out and that as well as getting your protein and veggie serves, you also get a bit of spice from the chilli flakes in the mince and the satay sauce.

Prep and cook time: 30 minutes Serves: 2

Satay Pork noodle bowl ingredients

500 grams pork and veal mince
1/4 cup satay sauce
1 ½ tablespoons minced garlic
1 tablespoon fennel seeds
1 tablespoon chilli flakes
125g vermicelli noodles
butter lettuce
1 carrot
1 lebanese cucumber
1 red capsicum
3 shallots
granulates peanuts
salt (to season)
pepper (to season)

14934436464221493443676190149344370368914934437298801493443756140149344378727214934438582541493443885808149344391043714934439831511493443936113149344402263414934440677491493192023022

Satay Pork noodle bowl method

  1. Add mince, garlic, fennel and chilli flakes to medium sized bowl
  2. Season with salt and pepper then stir to combine
  3. Add the satay sauce and stir through
  4. Place a sheet of baking paper on a tray and roll the mix into small meatballs
  5. Put a splash of olive oil into a frypan and turn onto a medium heat
  6. Add the meatballs and cook for 4 mins each side, turning and moving the frypan to get the balls to cook on all sides
  7. Take out and set aside
  8. Place the vermicelli noodles into a heatproof bowl and pour enough boiling water over the noodles to cover them, use a fork to separate, leave for 3 minutes
  9. Cut the carrot, capsisum and cucumber into edible portions, break apart the lettuce leaves and place with the veggies
  10. Rinse the water from the noodles and portion them out into 2 serving bowls
  11. Start to top the noodles with the veggies
  12. Reheat the meatballs and place on top, sprinkle peanuts on top
  13. Use additional satay sauce as a dressing

Enjoy xx

About Jamchop

I love cooking, books, yoga and the water! Instagram: adriannejamieson
This entry was posted in Dinner, Down time, Easy meals, food, Food photography, Home cooking, Vegetables, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Satay Pork Noodle bowl

  1. chefkreso says:

    Looks really really delicious, made me hungry just looking at it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

