Thai green curry chicken meatballs with mushrooms and spinach

I am going to keep this post short and sweet as it is all about the flavours today. This is a Thai Green Curry that I made with chicken meatballs, mushrooms and spinach. In my early cooking days I used to think that I had to put every vegetable in every dish, but as I have had more experience in the kitchen, I have become more selective about which veggies I cook with which flavours. For this curry, I used a huge amount of sliced mushrooms (my if I could only eat one vegetable for the rest of my life choice) and handfuls of fresh vibrant spinach. The trick with the greens is to add them as the very last step in the dish and turn the stove off as you are doing it, so they get a few minutes of cooking from the heat in the pan but you don’t overcook them and they stay a lovely bright green colour.

Serves 4

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

Chicken meatball Ingredients

500 grams chicken mince
1 large free range egg
1 ½ tablespoons minced garlic
1 tablespoon chilli flakes
1 teaspoon ginger powder
1 teaspoon cumin powder
1 tablespoon olive oil
salt (to season)
pepper (to season)

Meatball method

  1. Add mince, garlic, spices and egg to mixing bowl and stir to combine
  2. Roll into meatballs, place on lined baking tray
  3. Add splash of oil to fry pan, cook meatballs, turning once for approx. 5 minutes
  4. Rest on plate with paper towel for 3 minutes after cooking

Curry ingredients

jar green curry paste
2 x 400ml cans coconut cream
400g button mushrooms, sliced
200g baby spinach leaves

1497143595452

I always add lots of spices and season the mince well for optimum flavour. For chicken mince, ginger and cumin are my go to spices and the garlic and chilli flakes are my use almost every dish flavour. I also add freshly cracked himalayan pink salt and cracked pepper.

1497143633278

When making chicken meatballs, I tend to use an egg as I find the mince a bit drier than red meats and the egg helps the mixture stick together well and ensures the meatballs won’t fall apart when they are cooked.

1497143699543

You could cook the meatballs in the curry sauce, but I prefer to fry them off 1st, so that they are a bit crisp on the outside.

1497143757021

Mmmmmmmmm mushrooms! One of my all time favourite vegetables!

1497143810324

Final touches – adding the spinach and doing a quick stir to ensure it wilts and is covered in the curry sauce.

1497143865493

Ready to eat! I served this with basmati rice as I like the texture and that it doesn’t absorb the sauce too much. Another option is coconut rice.

1497143929743

Curry method

  1. Put a splash of oil olive in the fry pan, add the curry paste and fry off for 3 minutes
  2. Add the coconut cream and stir to combine
  3. Add the meatballs, mushrooms and spinach, put lid on and simmer for 3 minutes
  4. Serve with rice

 Enjoy xx

 

About Jamchop

I love cooking, books, yoga and the water! Instagram: adriannejamieson
This entry was posted in food, Home cooking, receipes, Vegetables, Weekend. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thai green curry chicken meatballs with mushrooms and spinach

  1. chefkreso says:

    Looks so flavourful, the combo of mushrooms and spinach goes so well with chicken!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

