Breakfast muffins

A long time ago now, I made some spinach, feta and sun-dried tomato muffins. They were good, but the recipe was complicated and recommended frozen spinach instead of fresh (I much prefer fresh as find frozen to be dry and lifeless) and buttermilk which meant I would use a small amount and then have the rest in the fridge which I would no doubt throw out at some point as I didn’t have anything else in mind to use up the remainder of the liquid. Fast forward a few years and I have used many different recipes to make a similar version of the same, albeit usually changing or modifying things ever so slightly as I didn’t feel I had perfected the recipe yet. After much internet research over time (usually procrastinating from the task at hand), I came across a Julie Goodwin recipe for Cheesy Lunch muffins which I made and I was very satisfied with the results, I felt she had hit the nail on the head when it came to making delicious savoury muffins. Despite her recipe being simple and very tasty, I still wanted to modify it slightly to suit my grocery preferences ie never having cow’s milk at home (I found I wasted to much of it as it went off faster than I used it) these days and using almond milk in its place. I also wanted to season the ingredients well prior to cooking and use gluten free flour for a change (I am not gluten intolerant, but I think this receipe works best with gf flour). So in the end, the recipe below is the one I have come to rely on the most for savoury muffins and they are absolutely delicious.

In the years back ones, I used feta cheese which I enjoyed, however, I don’t have it in the fridge as often as I do grated cheese and have to put it on my shopping list and therefore be quite prepared in advance if I want to make these muffins. However, with the Julie Goodwin version of the same recommending grated cheese, I found that I can usually whip up a batch of these without having to get any extra ingredients to the ones I already have in my fridge and pantry.

That is a winner in my book as it means that it can be a last minute option or an option when you feel like doing a bit of cooking, but don’t want to have to pop out to the shop to get the missing ingredients.

One of my colleagues and I were talking about food this week and throughout the course of a couple of hours, it was her idea from our conversations to think about a caramelised onion relish. It didn’t take long for my mouth to start watering as I was thinking about how well that would go with the muffins I had in mind as I looked at the tomato relish in the jar on the computer screen in front of me, I knew I would definitely prefer to make my own than to buy store bought relish. Plus I had very recently made caramelised onions and the ingredients and process was at the forefront of my mind so I knew it wouldn’t take long. I didn’t however, want to use just a batch of caramelised onions as the sauce and pondered for a bit to come up with a relish idea – adding fresh minced chilli was my brainwave and I was definitely pleased this morning to try it out and knew I had made the right choice.

I wanted to make ‘texas’ muffins for a change so instead of using a normal muffin tin, I made 6 large ones instead and one muffin was definitely enough for a meal (although I might have snuck in a bit more later as I wanted to revisit the flavours (they are that good!). This recipe is super easy, you stir it together so not too much washing up from beaters etc and I challenge you to not sit on the ground in front of the oven watching the muffins cook as I always find myself doing whenever I have something in the oven.

Do give these a whirl, you won’t be disappointed and you won’t likely ever order one out again as it won’t compare to the deliciousness of this recipe!


Serves 6
Prep time: 15 minutes
Cook time: 30 minutes

Breakfast muffin ingredients

2 cups gluten free self raising flour
1 ½ cups grated cheese
3 eggs
½ cup almond milk
60 grams butter, melted
1 can corn kernels, rinsed
150 grams spinach
100 grams sun-dried tomatoes
salt (to season)
pepper (to season)

Muffin method

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees and line a texas muffin pan with 6 baking paper inserts
  2. Combine flour and cheese in a large mixing bowl and season with salt and pepper
  3. In a small bowl add eggs, whisk to pierce yolks, pour in milk and melted butter
  4. Using a food processor finely chop the spinach and sun-dried tomatoes and add them and the corn to the miking bowl
  5. Pour in the liquid ingredients, stir till the mix is thoroughly mixed together and portion out into muffin cups

Caramelised onion relish ingredients

2 large red onions
1 tablespoon garlic, minced
¼ cup balsamic vinegar
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 teaspoon red chilli, minced

Caramelised onion relish method

  1. Put a splash of olive oil into a saucepan, add garlic, onions, salt & pepper, fry for 3 mins
  1. Add sugar and vinegar to pan, stir and simmer for 5 mins until onions are vibrant in colour
  2. Add chilli and simmer for 2-3 minutes
  3. Turn stove off, pour ingredients into bowl, chill in fridge to cool, add to food processor and blend to combine.

 

1498870344800 The bowl is one of the few things you have to wash up after cooking (thank god for dishwashers!)

1498870322379

You can easily make the muffin wraps with baking paper, then put a jar or tin in each cup so they paper sits in place firmly when you are scooping the mix into the pan.

1498879339241

Fresh from the oven and the house smells amazing, eating them when hot is best!

1498870298137

Shown here with the relish, the chilli gives a nice balance but the sugar in the mix means the relish is sweeter rather than spicy – yum!!

Enjoy!! xx

 

About Jamchop

I love cooking, books, yoga and the water! Instagram: adriannejamieson
This entry was posted in Baking, breakfast, Cooking, Down time, Easy meals, food, Food photography, Home cooking, receipes, Vegetables, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

